Author Topic: 2001 Jimny. Engine gone. Would you sell, recondition or put in a new engine?  (Read 161 times)

Offline MountainGoat

Hi good people. Newbie here. Owner of a 2001 Jimny hard top.

Sadly my first post will be a sad one, but I have a feeling it won't be my last.

I'll cut to the chase. I am after some guidance. Depending on the advise I get, I'll put an ad in the 'for sale' forum for what I need.

When my daughter turned 17 her grandmother gave her a little cash to spend on a car. My wife and I looked at heaps of cars for her while she did year 12. I have always loved Suzuki's (learned to drive on a Sierra and had to get towed out of the incoming tide at Lake's Entrance by the SES).
We eventually found a beautifully presented 2001 hard-top Jimny. Electric blue, I'm sure you know the one. We were taken for a ride (literally), we believed the seller (on gumtree, duh) and our mechanic didn't do any tests just said it was rock solid by looking at it (duh x 2). It wasn't.

You can tell we don't tinker with cars, and I know the old saying about falling in love with a car. Well, we did.

Anyway, MountainGoat overheated after 12 months. It's so obvious now: Loss of coolant with no visible leaks, milky oil, low power, poor fuel consumption. (I put it all down to a learner driver and kept giving it to the mechanic to fix: he put in a new radiator, water pump and hoses).

A coupe of thousand dollars later the (former) mechanic took the top of the engine off, sent it away and came back with a quote for $6,000 to recondition the engine. OK at that point I started doing some research. He showed me that pistons 2 and 3 were filling with water, the previous owner had used some coolant bog to cover up a warped head. There's pitting in the head and bottom of the engine, crud in one of the cylinders. I'm amazed she kept going.

We spent $6,000 and have spent another $2,000 so far.

So it's time to bite the bullet. Car is still registered but coming up for rego.